Archinect
anchor

mac vs pc...what again?

kevek

OK I know this topic has been covered every which way from Sunday, but I wanted to get some thoughts about my specific case. Here's the deal

I'm a first year grad going to an art+design school that mostly uses Mac. However, the laptop requirement for Arch dept is a PC. In fact they have their own system they've configured and loaded (with software) for incoming students. The departments IT folks say they will offer some support if you purchase their system. About as painless as you can get (minus the cost) Here's the rub. I come from a graphic design background and have been all Mac for the last ten years. My current system is an old PowerBook and a 30" Apple cinema display and Adobe's CS for mac. In either case I'll need to get a new laptop, but I figure I can use the display either way (PC or Mac). Of course I'll be able to use my existing Adobe suite only on a Mac. Although I feel comfortable trouble shooting on a Mac, the department has offered to do most of the troubleshooting for the PC. If you were in my shoes, a totally intergrated Mac user who knows nothing about PC's (nothing) what would you do...get a MBP or go with the departments PC which is a HP EliteBook 8530w Mobile Workstation w/ 2.80 GHz running Windows Vista.

Here are three more points to consider...
1. I've had two upper level students tell me they've had no problem working from their Macs.
2. I'll have to learn the Windows OS if I get a Mac or if I get a PC. But I'd rather not use this OS for personal things.

Sep 16, 09 7:05 pm
erjonsn

go mac or snack on flac.

i am waiting for your third point.

Sep 16, 09 9:39 pm  · 
 · 
kevek

right. OK
3. I really don't mind using a PC if it really does make a difference. But form the posts I've read here, there are pluses an minuses of both equating to a wash. How's that %Jack%

Sep 16, 09 10:06 pm  · 
 · 
Cherith Cutestory