Archinect
anchor

Grasshopper-Help-Diagrid on curved surface

Stasis

Dear all,
I am pretty new to grasshopper so I can't figure this out on my own.
I need to create a diagrid structure for curved surfaces similar to Norman Foster's british museum canopy or that office building in London.
I have tried diagrid GH script shown on Grasshopper Primer but I wasn't able to created curved diagrid members. I also want rectangular members instead of tubes.

So, Does anyone know how to create, curved smooth diagrid members for curved forms???

Thank you very much in advance.

Sep 11, 09 1:42 pm
LML

I would just google it. There's probably a definition on a blog somewhere you could just download--the diagrid is pretty popular these days :)

Sep 11, 09 2:37 pm  · 
 · 
LML

I would just google it. There's probably a definition on a blog somewhere you could just download--the diagrid is pretty popular these days :)

Sep 11, 09 2:37 pm  · 
 · 
LML

triple post... nice

you'll also find more examples w/ tubes because they can just use the pipe component on the basic wireframe. Rectangular sections will be more involved. good luck!

Sep 11, 09 2:41 pm  · 
 · 
maya mcdifference

right LML, i'm sure there is already a plug-in for rhino for surface conversion to diagrid.

Sep 11, 09 2:43 pm  · 
 · 
LML

yeah, I bet there's something in the Paneling Tools plugin as well that would accomplish the same thing

Sep 11, 09 2:46 pm  · 
 · 
stargazer

i spent a while creating a grasshopper definition for diagrid on any surface last semester. One of the biggest challenge is to get the edge condition right...

With grasshopper, I don't think you can create members of other section shapes other than tubular.

Sep 12, 09 2:16 am  · 
 · 
Stasis

thank you very much, stargazer.