Archinect
anchor

How to Survive?

jackbnimble819

I am a recent grad looking to get a job as an Intern. I have noticed a few postings in the big cities but a lot of them are unpaid. My question is how do you survive if you aren't getting paid?

Aug 9, 09 4:45 pm
rethinkit

So you want to be an architect?

I have been working for free since June. I was laid off in November of '08. I use EDD(California unemployment) as pay. Unfortunately it is now expected that you will work for free until either you get noticed or prove yourself. I guess many expect that you have another source of revenue. Developing websites is a good way to create income. I myself provide low cost lessons in Revit in the SF bay area.

Aug 9, 09 5:09 pm  · 
 · 
Cherith Cutestory

Corner of 4th and Alameda. 11pm-4am. Friday-Sunday.

Aug 9, 09 5:42 pm  · 
 · 
urbanity

Don't work for free. Architects salaries have been diluted over the years. Each time there is a recession we lose ground. By working for free you are contributing to the dilution. You are also allowing others to take advantage of you under the guise of gaining experience.

There are minimum wage laws. There are labor laws governing the amount of hours you work in a day/week for overtime. If an employer has you work for free or doesn't comply with overtime pay they are breaking the law. In this market, interns should in the least make minimum wage, get paid for overtime and be entitled to any benefits offered to other employees. I know that minimum wage is not much, but at least you would be able to eat.

Aug 9, 09 8:56 pm  · 
 · 
simples

"Unfortunately it is now expected that you will work for free until either you get noticed or prove yourself."

this is so sad...i really hope this is a temporary exageration, or our profession has turned over onto another ugly, painful page.

Aug 9, 09 11:02 pm  · 
 · 
simples