Archinect
anchor

MArch + MRED help

jackbnimble819

I am planning on going back to school next fall... I think. Anyways I am interested in obtaining my MArch degree and also a Masters degree in Real Estate Development. I have a 4 year architecture degree from ASU right now. My ultimate goal is to have a firm somewhat modeled after Jonathan Segal's office. I am also going after the MRED to justify all of the extra debt. I figure worst case scenario, that degree will help pay off all of my student loans a lot faster than an architecture degree.

1. What schools offer a dual degree for these two programs?

2. Would a MBA (rather than a specific RED) be as effective?

Jul 16, 09 3:47 pm
trace™

1. Do a search, been discussed several times

2. I'd say 'no', but that's a guess

Jul 17, 09 9:45 am  · 
 · 
citizen

Jackb,

Use the search function at the bottom of the page for "real estate." You'll find many threads.

Jul 17, 09 9:50 am  · 
 · 
jackbnimble819

I have been looking through old posts. I was just wondering if anybody had a list of the schools.

Jul 17, 09 10:10 am  · 
 · 
j'aime
http://web.mit.edu/cre/students/overview/mba-msred.html

For between MBA and MSRED, an interesting comparison....

Is there any school that does M.arch/MRED dual degree

Jul 17, 09 5:19 pm  · 
 · 

upenn

Jul 17, 09 7:13 pm  · 
 · 
scottaway

If you're goal is to have a design-oriented development firm along the lines of Joanathan Segal's firm, you don't necessarily need to go back to school. You would probably have a good experience in school, and there is a lot to be said for getting masters degrees, but seriously consider not going back to school too. Would the debt really be worth it?