Archinect
anchor

Which Path Is the Most Significant? (B.A arch, B.S arch or Barch)

Bilal Ozdemir

Hi everybody!

I just finish my first semester of community college and got a decent GPA. I am still taking some general edu. classes for now, and will be taking it for the next 1.5 year. I'm currently living in Chicago and looking forward to transfer to either UIC or IIT. Being a foreign student, I can't tell if I will continue my architecture career in U.S. or in my native country. As of now, I feel like I have to choose an option to which undergraduate degree I will go ahead for because I have to transfer classes in 2 years. I have searched about Barch, being an 5 year NAAB accredited,  professional degreee but I'm afraid that my home country will count this degree as same an 4 year pre-professional degree. I also have somewhat information about B.S and B.A architecture, both being non-accredited pre-professional degree, but I can't decide whether which one will be the best option for me. As I searched more about the 4+2 year  program I got confused even more about choosing BA or BS architecture. I sort of  believe that the 4+2 year program is better for me because of my condition but...

What is the major difference between B.A and B.S arch?   

Which degree (B.A , B.S or BArch) is more convenient in future career?

Will B.A be more into history and design of architecture?

Will B.S be more into structure and technology of architecture?

What are some experience of B.A and B.S arch. students in going through this 4+2 year path?

What are some experience of B Arch students in going through this 5 year path?

What are the advantages and the disadvantages going through 4+2 year program or the 5 year program?

I'm so sorry if I am asking for too much, but I am doing my best to find answers in every forum and architecture based sites. I am looking forward to your thoughts, experiences and advices. I will be really glad for any kind of answer.

Thank you so much!!!