Archinect
anchor

Best combo degree w/architecture.

Jord99

What would you say is the best degree to have in combination with a B.Arch or M.Arch?  MBA, engineering, economics??

Jun 6, 11 11:18 am
file

First you have to answer the question: what do you want from your career ... how do you want to spend your time?

Jun 6, 11 11:56 am  · 
 · 
burningman

'best' in this market, if you are just looking for work, I'd say interior design...zzzzzzz, zzzzzzzzz, I know

Jun 6, 11 12:17 pm  · 
 · 
Jord99

Lets just say I mean to build a successful business that is held in high esteem for both creativity, and managment. As much as I see my degree as useless for practical skills in arch, I actually think it will be a great asset in the future. My degree is in pr/adverrising. I have some knowledge in bussiness, alot in outreach (social media, press releases etc.), I personally think this will be invaluable.

If I could go back however, I would say a straight marketing degree from a good school with a M.arch from a school that teaches more practical allow for greatest bussiness success.

Jun 6, 11 12:23 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

Given your aspirations, I would say you probably already have more than enough marketing and pr knowledge and experience - if you're trying to shore up your business skills, go for an MBA to supplement your design training. Further training in economics -- while surely a scintillating endeavor -- probably won't help much in day-to-day practice. An engineering degree would be useful only to the extent you want your firm to provide both architecture and engineering services.

Jun 6, 11 12:31 pm  · 
 · 
le bossman

I'd say business, construction management, or planning.  You already will get more than enough engineering training (unless, as quizzical notes, that's really your thing).  What architects tend to be short on is business

Jun 6, 11 2:30 pm  · 
 · 
sectionalhealing