Archinect
anchor

Research on Shelters/Transitional Housing

stefjam

I did a search on here and there was a thread about transitional housing posted 3 years ago, so I'm looking for more recent updates.

I'm interested in starting research on the design of successful transitional housing of a few different types: for the homeless, as well as transitional housing for women and children (i.e. low income single mothers, shelters for victims of domestic abuse).

I'd love to hear first hand input about this topic from any of you who practice on this end of the spectrum.. or be pointed in a direction to start studying this topic. Thanks in advance! :)

Jun 4, 09 12:42 am
Living in Gin

Is this for academic research or professional practice? I have some experience in the latter.

Jun 4, 09 1:09 am  · 
 · 
stefjam

I want to check out both published works and hear about experiences in practice. I am a (planning) student, however, this is a topic I want to look into on my own time because it's something that interests me (i.e. designing safe havens/designing for marginalized people).

At this point, it's not for a class or term paper.. but who knows, if I am intrigued enough with what I find I may want to develop something more formal from that.

Jun 4, 09 1:33 am  · 
 · 
chupacabra

I am actually doing some similar research right now and just finished a book that has lots of information in regards to various temporary living situations...it analyzes them all as types of camps.

The book is called Camps - A Guide to 21st Century Space

http://www.amazon.com/Camps-Guide-21st-Century-Charlie-Hailey/dp/0262512874/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1244122550&sr=8-1

Jun 4, 09 9:36 am  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

I've worked on a couple of transitional housing projects professionally, so here's my take on a few nuts-and-bolts issues. These observations may or may not apply to your research.