Archinect
anchor

astronomy/ arstrology in architecture

harihara sudhan

Hello everyone, I am an Architect in Chennai, India. I m now designing a marriage hall ,in Chennai. I have an idea of designing it by including astrological parameter.My idea is to bring the sun light directly to hit the "homa kundam", during all the auspicious days for marriage. Can any one help me out?

Dec 17, 13 11:22 am
Non Sequitur

Astronomy is a science based method of observation which relies on a rich history of research, exploration and demonstrations. Astrology is a bullshit filled grab-bag of ancient superstitions with no relevance to the real world. Which one is it that your are working with?

Dec 17, 13 11:30 am  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

What do you need help on? Figuring out how to ensure it works? Suggesting design elements? Showing you which way is North?

Dec 17, 13 11:32 am  · 
 · 
curtkram

astrology isn't any less relevant than a lot of the crap tossed around in archibabble circles.

this thread may or may not be of interest:

http://archinect.com/forum/thread/65137747/please-help-astronomy-astrology-and-architecture-dissertation-topic

Dec 17, 13 12:28 pm  · 
 · 
x-jla

sounds like you need a sun diagram?  Why not make it so that the sun comes through an opening and aligns with a lens on the day of the marriage vaporizing the groom and bride with a death ray.  That sounds like more fun!

Dec 17, 13 12:34 pm  · 
 · 
SneakyPete

Curt, I agree.

If I see one more parti based on points of interest hundreds of miles (even blocks, really) away from the site I might vomit.

Dec 17, 13 12:36 pm  · 
 · 
Non Sequitur

But think about the building's "chi"

Dec 17, 13 1:59 pm  · 
 · 
go do it

here is an idea

pictures

Dec 17, 13 2:53 pm  · 
 · 

Holwy shit, that star axis is wild.

Dec 17, 13 5:28 pm  · 
 · 
zonker

harihara sudhan