Archinect
anchor

Cyberspace and Philosophy

knstna

Hello to everybody ;)

I am an undergraduate student pf architecture and for the current semester I am trying to understand the relationships that exist between cyberspace and philosophy.
To be more exact, I am trying to define cyberspace's qualities and to project them to the philosophical theories raging from the 60's till today.
I would appreciate any help or thought on this topic

Thank you in advance,
knstna

May 9, 09 7:02 pm
bRink

This is not a bad place to start:

'Cyber_Reader' by Neil Spiller (ed.)

some key writings on cyberspace from a bunch of different disciplines... you can start with the readings here and follow some of the contributors work or follow up on their references...

May 9, 09 11:36 pm  · 
 · 
mespellrong

A great topic! let me suggest Hubert Dreyfus' On the internet, and David Hakken, The Knowledge Landscapes of Cyberspace

May 10, 09 12:34 am  · 
 · 
mespellrong

of course, if you want a comprehensive list, you can't go wrong with Phil Agre's list of what he's interested in.

May 10, 09 12:38 am  · 
 · 
ff33º

William Mitchell is always good for lighter reading on the topic. Heidegger is crucial for the deeper thoughts.

May 10, 09 1:52 am  · 
 · 

I thought Manuel Delanda's "war in the age of intelligent machines" was a pretty good history of the internet.

In my experience a lot of these texts seem slightly dated because their subject is constantly changing.

A Thousand Plateaus might be a good place to start as well.

May 11, 09 2:10 pm  · 
 · 
ff33º

LOL,..the thought of "starting" with D&G is funny.

May 12, 09 2:26 pm  · 
 · 

maybe not the whole thing, just read the introduction, "rhizomes for dummies"

then maybe some

nicolas bourriaud- relational aesthetics
or
postproduction: culture as screenplay

-- bam, forget about it. you are now on the cutting edge

May 12, 09 3:17 pm  · 
 · 

Block this user