Archinect
anchor

Dreams of designing a home & the required education

Corby

I'm a graphic designer, with a love of architecture. One of the things I want to do before I leave this planet is design and build my own home. I feel that to do this, I need to be trained in architecture. I'm toying with the idea of taking a part-time degree over the next 6 years, in the hope that this might give me enough knowledge to make my dream a reality.

Do you think this is a silly idea? Is it foolish to study an architecture degree for no other reason than to build one personal project? Do you need to be a trained architect to design your own home?

Without training, can you ever truly successfully design a building?

Mar 19, 09 5:56 pm
drums please, Fab?
Do you think this is a silly idea?

not at all

Is it foolish to study an architecture degree for no other reason than to build one personal project?

no - if you're passionate about it and have the cash and time to burn, go for it!

Do you need to be a trained architect to design your own home?

as far as i know, no state requires an architect's stamp for a single family residence. so no, you don't need to be trained as an architect.

Without training, can you ever truly successfully design a building?

yes - training in architecture and being an architect is not required to create 'architecture'. however, it may make making 'architecture' a more likely outcome.

Mar 19, 09 6:10 pm  · 
 · 
dia

Do you want to design it only, or design, document and oversee construction i.e do everything?

Getting a degree for this only is overkill IMO. What it might be good to do is break it down a little. Work with an architect on a small scale house/building first and see how you go. Then decide if it is for you.