Archinect
anchor

What should I do to improve my architecture skills?

Bilal Ozdemir

Hi everyone!!

I'm a college student preparing to transfer to an architecture school. I have always had a passion towards architecture with its history, but more with its design. Through out my childhood I had always drawn and drawn but I never done it professionally and I never improved myself going to art schools or taking art classes. I have been wanting to become an designer since the first day I drawn but after seeing the architecture field I have said to myself this is the career in the future. In the past years in high school I had interviews with architects and their first question to me was "are you a left hand?" I am a left handed person and I believe I have a great potential of becoming an architect in the future. I have researched architects and architecture students complain every time with the difficulties studying  but I'm going into this field knowing there is going to be hard times. Like I said I have a passion towards architecture and all I can say is that "every rose has its thorns." In my high school years I have worked on Autocad, Revit, and somewhat Archicad. I have always done some stuff on sketchup unprofessionally. During my high school years I had got really good responses from teachers. But, I want to improve more and more so I'm asking all the architects in this field and architecture students What can I do to improve my skills? Which program is the most used in this field? Is there any books or documentaries about architecture you would recommend for me? I'm looking towards your helpful advices from your worthful experiences.

Thank you so much,

Nov 17, 13 3:18 pm