Archinect
anchor

Is it worth to study for a 5 year BA Architecture (NAAB accredited degree)?

Bilal Ozdemir

Hey,

I'm currently a college student that will transfer to NAAB accredited architecture school within 2 years hopefully, but planning for my career in the future, I have made my mind up to become a licensed architect in another country (my country--Turkey). I am curios whether the 5 year BA Arc degree is a basic undergraduate degree for foreign students  or is it just a step to become registered architect in U.S going through the IDP process and the ARE exams. I have searched that mostly countries like UK, Norway, Australia etc. architecture is 5 year degree being a 3+2 year master degree in order to become license. However, in my country architecture is a 4 year degree and you can become a licensed architect. I think that if I'm going to become registered in an another country why should I go through the U.S requirements, going to for an extra year. I'm basically asking if there is an architecture degree that will be enough to get me registered somewhere else, like a 4 year architecture degree. Or is this, BA Arch 5 year degree the only way to get an architecture degree in U.S. I know it's confusing a lot but I will be glad if anyone can help me out or give me any ideas. Thank you!! 

Nov 16, 13 1:26 am

There are pre-professional degrees that take 4 years (BA's BS's, etc) But you should check with your country what the requirements are to be licenced, ie: what exact requirements your education has to fulfil, (because I doubt a 4 year pre-professional program will fulfil everything), then compare it to the program curriculum. Also, just straight out ask whatever organisation it is that licences architects in your country if a specific program fulfils their requirements.

Nov 16, 13 9:30 am  · 
 · 
Paradox