Archinect
anchor

Special moments of personal architectural experience.

Monika Striaukaite

Hello,

My name is Monika and I'm an undergraduate student of Interior_Architecture. I'm doing a survey for my dissertation. I would be grateful if you could spend some time sharing your story.  

‘There is the magic of painting and potery, of words and images, there is the magic of the real, of the physical, of substance, of the things around me that I see and touch, that I smell and hear. Sometimes, at certain moments, the magic conveyed by a specific architecture or landscape...‘ Peter Zumthor/ Thinking Architecture

We all experience architecture in our lives without thinking about it, and we all have our special places that put us in a special mood. 

I would like to know the works or moments of architecture that you fell passion for and why? What is so important about that place. I would like to know your special moments of personal architectural experience.

Thank you, I really appreciate your time and story.

Nov 13, 13 5:27 pm
3tk

Forbidden Palace / Versailles / US Capitol / Reichstag : Places of history and power, shown with an awe inspiring scale and yet subtly detailed to show care and pride.

Notre Dame Cathedral / La Sagrada Familia / Ulm Dom / Church of the Jacobins (Toulouse): the care and love of craft over generations of construction in stone and concrete.  and the light through the filigree of masonry is divine.

There are few places that truly change the way you perceive the world around you - Serra's torus sculptures in an outdoor setting of gravel is one I feel particularly strongly (the change of wind and the soft crunching of gravel echoing along the steel);  FLW's Guggenheim rotunda is another the eyes and ears convey the magic.

Nov 13, 13 10:54 pm  · 
 · 
Monika Striaukaite

Thank you 3tk! 

Nov 14, 13 4:35 am  · 
 · 

Saarinen's MIT chapel changed my life and view of how architecture - interior spaces in particular - could affect all our senses.