Archinect
anchor

Please tell me if I am about to do something idiotic

renmonk

Would I be a complete idiot to give up a good job now?

I work as an intern in a medium sized architecture firm, with great people, am learning a lot (graduated with an architecture BA last year), being paid decently if not extravagantly, and the firm is doing ok financially (lots of government work). Have been working there since June.

BUT...

My boyfriend is currently in New York, where I was just admitted to a year-long Americorps program (City Year) that would be tons of work and almost no pay (does include health insurance, "education stipend", cell phone). I would be tutoring and mentoring young kids, be fully immersed in the city and I'm sure it would be a great experience. Also, I'd get to be with the boyfriend. It starts in September and lasts until the middle of next June.

Also, my current job is in the city I grew up in. Do NOT want to stay here longer than neccessary- was planning to work at this firm for a year or so. I would like to spend time before grad school travelling, living in different places and it's not TOO important to me to be doing architecture-related things 100% percent of the time, especially before goin got grad school.

In your opinion, would I be a total and absolute idiot to give up a good architecture job now, given the economic climate? Should I suck it up and stay in my comfortable-if-quite-boring life? Or should I take the plunge?

This decision is killing me.

Mar 7, 09 7:55 pm
l3wis

live your life with no regrets

go to NYC

Mar 7, 09 8:04 pm  · 
 · 

life is short! Go to NYC it's a beautiful city and we need more teachers in the world.

But the reality is that your relationship may not be worth moving to NYC about just yet - but you may not know it yet or believe otherwise. Then you'll be cursing that you left your family and a well paying job.

so

Is it possible to wait a year then make a move?

Mar 7, 09 8:09 pm  · 
 · 
liberty bell