Archinect
anchor

Opinions on U Washington Seattle and UT Austin?

I'm applying to several M-Arch I programs and I'm planning to apply to one of the two programs. I know UT Austin is frequently ranked in the top ten and there is plenty of great information out there about it, but I'm looking for some perspectives from former / current students.

I haven't found much opinion-wise on University of Washington Seattle.

I have a bachelor of fine arts with a concentration in architecture and I have 2 years professional experience working in the planning studio at a large firm. I feel I have a pretty good shot at getting into both of them so I just want to narrow it down and add it to my list of other school applications.

Nov 6, 13 3:30 pm
observant

First, you should apply to more than 2 programs.  I'd start with a handful.

I did the M.Arch. elsewhere, but know these 2 schools.  I think UT Austin is the slightly better school, with a better curriculum and on semesters, but I think UW Seattle might be a more stimulating experience for its setting.  I have known people to graduate from UW Seattle who were not stellar and who said it was just ok.  However, if you're a Sunbelt person, I'd go UT Austin.  UW Seattle, although a beautiful campus, is gray most of the academic year (September to June).

Nov 7, 13 12:18 pm  · 
 · 
JReynders