Archinect
anchor

Fine arts background, looking at Canadian MArch schools.

Hey there. 

I graduated two years ago with a BA (Hons.) in fine art from McMaster, and am looking to apply this coming winter to graduate programmes in Canada. 

It's looking like my options are fairly limited in terms of which schools will accept students from non-Arch backgrounds (it's looking like U oƒ T and UBC are the only ones really open to applicants without some sort of BArch). 

I would, ideally, like a fairly rigorous and practical technical education with a focus on sustainability and community, and I'm wondering if a) any one in those programmes would like to chime in to that effect, or b) if there are any other suggestions out there.

http://krtkrt.ca is my website. Critique as to how it would jive with a graduate Arch application is more than welcome! 

As a background: I graduated Summa Cum Laude with a ~3.8 GPA. Won best in show for my graduation exhibition, and have physics, calc, and mech. engineering courses under my belt. Since graduating, I've founded a studio/gallery space in Hamilton focussing on cross-media, performance and installation work, and garnered significant local recognition. I also make music using live coded algorithms in a laptop orchestra — we recently came back from a little stint in Germany. 

Thanks!

Nov 6, 13 12:51 pm
Non Sequitur

Canadian architect here and you're correct (as far as I can remember) that the only two schools offering masters programs to non bachelors in architecture are UofT and UBC. Personally, I would pick UBC above UofT. I remember applying to grad schools many years ago and although I never followed through on my UBC application (I choose Waterloo), I've felt it's program to be much more varied than Toronto's especially if you are looking for a sustainable edge to your research/training.

Nov 6, 13 1:22 pm  · 
 · 
strangefires