Archinect
anchor

Unlicensed, but practicing architecture

psycho-mullet

Can I call myself an Illegal Architect?

Mar 1, 09 12:02 pm  · 
 · 
spaceman

I think it is ironic that one can create a self image as an architect, which is merely an ideological template, and at the same time feign to resist the institutions that reproduce that ideology in society. The desire to define oneself as an architect exists only because the institutions exist, and participation is voluntary. If one aspires to the societal distinction that comes with the label, then it seems to me that that person would support those institutions that reproduce the ideology in society.

In other words, you can't have your cake and eat it too.

Mar 1, 09 12:21 pm  · 
 · 
psycho-mullet

The ideology existed before the the institution, and the institution keeps changing. IDP is quite new. When I graduated in california it was not required and I'm not even 30.

Our argument is not so much with professional licensure, simply the current state of it.

Just because there are rules and laws that currently exist, it does not mean those laws and rules are perfect or free from reproach. I believe they are massively flawed and stand to benefit greatly from re-examination. So that is what we are attempting to do here.

The more I learn about how laws are enacted in our country the less respect I have for Congress and the laws they enact. I don't think we should accept the status-quo simply because we already had to trudge through all the bull-shit so everyone else should as well.

Some of us see some problems with the state of the profession and I believe the licensure process is a contributing factor. While there have been 4 threads on this already there are a number of us who feel it's a discussion we can still benefit from.