Archinect
anchor

GM & Chrysler...why did you not see it coming?

ichweiB

CNN.com had a front page article saying GM and Chrysler would be asking the government for an additional 26 billion dollars due to low demand of their products. Obviously, GM and Chrysler will really be asking you and me for our money to get them out of their own problems. From two perspectives, an American as well as a Designer, I am frustrated with these companies...and other American car companies asking for us to bail them out of their own problems. I do recognize that the car industry, whether we agree with it or not, is a pillar of our economy...and that to do nothing would simply destroy the economy even more in some ways, but come on GM/Ford/Chrysler...do you really not get it?

Before studying Architecture, I studied Business and Design. I remember sitting in Marketing class and the professor would pull out newspaper ads showing Chevrolet's new stronger, faster, bigger than ever truck right next to a foreign automaker's ad describing efficiency, style and performance as the hallmark of their design.

Throughout the US and the rest of the world, the latter of the two have proven to be more desirable. It doesn't take a top level executive to begin to see that. I live in Texas as well...sure we have a lot of trucks, but even here plenty of people are driving smaller more efficient vehicles.

With that said, why should your money and my money go to help US Auto manufacturers after years of design and development of products that anyone could see are less desirable than let's say...honda, toyota, etc...

I love America, but I am really really put out with this situation. I think mainly I am due to the fact as a designer, my opinion is that these companies made really poor design decisions in every way-compromising on many aspects of what makes good design...and then asking to be bailed out.