Archinect
anchor

Sense of Scale and the Digital Age of Architecture

BulgarBlogger

I am in my mid twenties and its not as if I don't use the computer. However, I find that drawing and modeling in a virtual environment as opposed to drawing by hand has really hindered my perception and understanding of architectural scale. As an architect, I feel it is crucial to understand scale. With all of these columbia grads graduating with a command of digital media and grasshopper, the "best architecture school," has the potential of producing a future generation of architects without any understanding of scale... What is your take on the issue of the relationship of digital media and architectural scale?

Nov 2, 13 11:30 pm
natematt

How are you defining scale here?

Also, why Columbia? I've never heard it referred to as the "best" by anyone before, though certianly as one of them. Would we still be having this discussion about a more pragmatic school?

Nov 3, 13 2:12 am  · 
 · 
BulgarBlogger

Let me clarify:

Can you easily go from offsetting a line or a wall in a software a certain distance to knowing more or less how to draw by hand in 1/4" scale? My argument is that the more you are used to getting precise measurements in various softwares, the less your rely on your intuition on how big or something small is. When you zoom in really close to an object in virtual space, you have no idea how big or small the thing you are looking at really is unless you measure it. Similarly, if you are drawing a quick sketch of an elevation or section by hand and you are relying on your intuition to hit the ball park of of 10' ceilings, the thickness of floor slabs, and/or the proportions of window mullions and other architectural features, I contend that those dimensional qualities would be greatly distorted if someone is used to getting them by inputting values in the computer...