Archinect
anchor

Degree advice after M.Arch and work experience

equivocal

Hello, I'm a 2011 M.Arch grad who has worked for 2 years in the architecture industry post-graduation. My last job was for corporate clients and nearly stifled any creative/idealistic/intellectual ambition left in me. Now that I'm free from it, I'm looking into the possibility of returning to school. I've always enjoyed the academic environment, but I know that academic jobs are difficult to come by these days. I'm interested in design, design thinking, theory, urban planning, material science, structural engineering, and research/knowledge production in general. In terms of job outlook, what would be a wise degree program for me to pursue? I'm torn between engineering degrees for ostensibly better salaries and Ph.D programs. My background is diverse - social theory/anthropology bachelor's, some lab science, and I can handle the mathematics in engineering. Something like the Yale M.E.D. program is where my heart is but engineering seems to be what my head is saying.. If there are any programs out there that can bridge the two, I am definitely interested in hearing about them. Programs with a reputation for generous financial aid are greatly desirable (Rice?). 

Nov 1, 13 11:13 pm
natematt

Most PhD programs are fully funded, are they not? (based on the PhD students I know) You are essentially an employee of the school, tuition is free, and they give you a fairly nice stipend, and perhaps other benefits based on the school and their generosity.

Nov 2, 13 1:41 am  · 
 · 

Try the non for profit sector

Center for Neighborhood Tecknologies

http://www.cnt.org/

Archeworks

http://www.archeworks.org