Archinect
anchor

Transfer, Grad school, or work?

Ben8910

Hi everyone,

I am a fifth year college student in my third year of architecture school at Georgia Tech. Georgia Tech's undergraduate program, as I'm sure some of you know, is not accredited and only offers a Bachelors of Science in Architecture. Georgia Tech has a program for Architecture students where a student can replace their senior year of studios with 10 credit hours of cluster electives (10 hours of classes in any college). That is the route I am currently on and will be graduating from Tech in May since I have all the required classes and hours already taken care of. (The result of this is that I will have to do 3 years of grad school instead of 2)

This has left me with many questions and options to consider and this is where I'd like to have some outside advice/suggestions/stories.

Option #1: Graduate from Tech in May and do my best to get a job and begin getting some experience in the real world and then go back to school for my professional degree after a year or two. This is the route I have most considered going with, but a new route has recently come to my attention, option #2.

Option #2: (haven't done much research on this and I'm not sure if it's even possible) Graduate from Tech in May and then transfer to an accredited undergrad program and get a professional degree after another 2 years.

Option #3: Go straight to Grad school for 3 years and get all the school out of the way and have massive student loan debt :(

Like I said, option #1 is what looks best to me, but I just want to know what others might think about these options and what experiences you've had with your decisions. Anything is helpful.

Thanks guys!

Oct 26, 13 4:46 pm
DeTwan

I would just try to find a job with the skill set you have now. How old are you?

No one really gives a fux where you graduated and all the crap. Companies wanna see you turn profits quick and I mean quick.