Archinect
anchor

Location, location, location

Hasselhoff

Do you think, that with so many hobo architects, that employers generally aren't looking outside their backyards to fill the handful of jobs out there? In other words, do you think employers' applicant pools are generally confined to the city in which the firm is located? I.e. SOM just hiring people in NYC, for example. Am I shit out of luck cause I don't live anywhere with an architecture industry?

Jan 26, 09 7:00 pm
liberty bell

I find it hard to believe that a firm would be willing to pay relocation costs, pretty much ever but especially in this economy, so yeah, they are probably mostly looking for locals.

Jan 26, 09 7:07 pm  · 
 · 
Hasselhoff

Oh, I know that firms don't pay relocation (although my dad seems to think they do...). It's more the question...after I graduated, people were relocating all over the country and world. Firms were recruiting from all over. Now, do you think that firms are only recruiting locally? If I send my resume to a firm in NYC or Boston, or well, anywhere since I live in the middle of nowhere, am I out of the running just because I'd have to move? I saw one ad in the jobs section and it said "NYC residents only." Is this a feeling throughout the field right now?

Jan 26, 09 9:16 pm  · 
 · 
On the fence

SOM is based in Chicago.

Jan 26, 09 9:28 pm  · 
 · 
evilplatypus

SOM has offices world wide including Chicago, NY, San Fran, Hong Kong - prob more too

Jan 26, 09 9:53 pm  · 
 · 
xtbl

there was a los angeles office too but it was shut down a few months ago.

Jan 26, 09 10:00 pm  · 
 · 
Philarch

I don't see why they would care if the person is local or not if they're not covering relocation costs anyway. Maybe if they were looking for registered architects?

I would think this would be a good time for employers to be pickier with their employee choices regardless of where they're currently residing.

Jan 26, 09 10:02 pm  · 
 · 
Wonderful remark