Archinect
anchor

Portfolio Review

jkzen

Hi All. I am a recent grad and am looking for work, another topic indeed, and would appreciate any feedback regarding a very simple online portfolio. Should I include more drawings? Any critique is most welcome...

www.jonathankitchens.com

thesis film: http://www.vimeo.com/2873211

thanks
jkzen

Jan 19, 09 2:12 pm
randomized

It all depends on the kind of work you are looking for, but I always want to see more than pictures/renderings. So I would definitely include technical drawings and physical models. You want to show your future employer that you have certain skills so include material that supports those skills.

Jan 19, 09 2:31 pm  · 
 · 
peridotbritches

Agreed with Randomized. I put portfolios with no ortho's into a pile for 'review at leisure'.

Jan 19, 09 2:37 pm  · 
 · 
won and done williams

your portfolio says to me that you have some photoshop skills and a sensitive eye for detail. on the other hand, i don't see a very rigorous process or an understanding of the basics of design communication and drawing conventions. it reads as a series of pleasant images.

Jan 19, 09 2:40 pm  · 
 · 
med.

People need to stop using the big but sketchup chick in their projects...

Jan 19, 09 2:55 pm  · 
 · 
holz.box

sketchup shouldn't be used for presentations. period.

in helvetica. period.

Jan 19, 09 3:14 pm  · 
 · 
toasteroven

was your degree in architecture?

Jan 19, 09 3:26 pm  · 
 · 
n400

I'd consider editing the movie or leaving it out altogether. The story might not appeal to a potential employer who's viewing your portfolio on her lunch break.

Jan 19, 09 3:28 pm  · 
 · 
jkzen

yes the degree is in architecture. this was an initial sort of beta stab to get some critique. thanks for all of the feedback.

Jan 19, 09 4:53 pm  · 
 · 

you will add more work?

projects are a bit hard to grasp without plans and some explanation of purpose that is not text-based...