Archinect
anchor

Training for those laid off--what are you going to learn?

blah

For those of you who have been laid off:

Are you going back to school to learn new skills?

I would recommend looking to your local community college and see what they offer. For instance, Oakton Community College in Skokie is offering a 14 week introductory Revit class for about $300.(starts Feb 7th) That's pretty good compared to the private stuff I see offered where they want $200 for one session.

I'd love to take a good Rhino class but I don't know what's available in my area. Does anyone know of a good Rhino class available in the Chicago area?

Perhaps we should have a retraining section added to the Archmart?

What's available in your area?

Jan 14, 09 3:25 pm
Hasselhoff

I'm studying for LEED. Once that's done, maybe work on some Revit. Playing around with Rhino on and off just to stay sharp.

Jan 14, 09 3:43 pm  · 
 · 
rethinkit

Here in the bay Area? I recommend Revit classes.

at San Francisco State University extension and
City College of San Francisco

also A.R.E. classes at SFAIA go to SFAIA.com

Jan 14, 09 3:57 pm  · 
 · 
lletdownl

a

Jan 14, 09 3:59 pm  · 
 · 
Synergy

Make,

I took a class with Master Academy at my previous office. I believe the website is Masterg.com/academy . In my experience just taking a couple day introduction course will be plenty to get you rolling. The program is really intuitive, and once you have the basic feel, additional commands come easily. I don't know the cost, since the company paid, but it was likely more than the $300. My instinct is that the 14 week course is kind of overkill, but maybe the amount works out to be about the same, two or three half days or 14, 1-hour sessions. I like getting it done in a smaller time frame, but I am sure others have different preferences.

Jan 14, 09 5:30 pm  · 
 · 
blah

Synergy,

Is that a Revit class?

Jan 14, 09 5:59 pm  · 
 · 
blah

Synergy,

I found it: