Archinect
anchor

spray foam roofing

mdler

discuss

Jan 13, 09 8:53 pm

i like replacin' it.

all that stuff put on in the 80s played havoc with steel decks - especially the stuff that turned corrosive when exposed to water.

Jan 13, 09 9:10 pm  · 
 · 
Janosh

If you are talking retrofits on existing buildings: Not so good. Although it offers a quick fix for failing built-up roofs and doesn't require landfilling the old plys, once a leak occurs it is very difficult to locate the source (the water can migrate great distances). Facilities people and our waterproofing consultant hate the stuff.

On the other hand, it is very popular with building owners looking to sell...

Jan 13, 09 10:07 pm  · 
 · 
mdler

i was thinking for new constrcution. It seems like it would be a good system; +/- 12" of foam insulation would prevent water from getting through your roof, wouldnt it?

Jan 14, 09 1:39 am  · 
 · 
binary

if you doing flat roofs for commercial... do epdm... i was a roofing inspector for 2 summers and worked on epdm roofs and they are easy to install and clean compared to coal tar pitch and whatever else ish is out there.

you would be surprised how many trees i have seen on roof tops of coal tar roofs.... once you get a crack/crease/etc any little seeds will harvest and grow. not sure on the density and hardness of the spray foam stuff.

Jan 14, 09 2:06 am  · 
 · 
Janosh

Mdler - I think most agree that SFR works great until they start leaking. Pipe penetrations and curbs all just disappear underneath the goo, so detailing is easy. Construction is easier since slopes can be created with just additional foam, so no goofy tapered insulation, sloped framing, rip strips, etc. That said, the leak migration issue is a concern for new construction as well.

Jan 14, 09 2:39 am  · 
 · 

on roof installations, i listen to the more conservative of my clients. e.g., the facilities guys will no longer allow foam on their jobs.