Archinect
anchor

ARE vs. PE, Professional Licensure

dads

Can anyone explain to me why the ARE is about 33 hours of testing, and the PE (for engineers) is only 6-8 hours?

It would seem, that due to the additional liability an engineer endures, specifically for structural (but the PE title doesn't discriminate), that the PE exam would be more strenuous. Is there a rational response to this? I know architects think the world of themselves, but lets be honest, if a building falls down, we're not the ones chased down by the mob.

Thanks for you input/thoughts.

Jan 11, 09 12:35 pm
_JC

It's a good question. I studied as a an engineer in undergrad, and took the FE (fundamentals of engineering) and that was 8 hours as well. So the FE and the PE combined only adds to 16 hours plus in order to register for the PE, you are required to have 5 years of work under a PE, which, when compared to IDP is a little more of an experience requirement.

You are right in saying that an engineer has a lot of legal responsibility, but the reality is engineers often become a lot more specialized than architects. So, my guess would be that the difference relates to an architects' responsibility to be able to choose a broad range of different building systems, and can't call on specialized professionals to review every single one of these systems like they do for engineers with structural drawings. I can't really come up with another logical reason.

Jan 11, 09 12:55 pm  · 
 · 

if you analyze the scope of work and services traditionally provided by each profession, you probably see the difference, in relation to total exam hours.
as far as liability goes, if the building fails, i don't think we are outside the loop of litigation as architects, even it is a structural failure. and, buildings can fail many more ways than the structural design.
i hope this helps the discussion a little.

Jan 11, 09 12:57 pm  · 
 ·