Archinect
anchor

Review 3D modeling programs!

tes186

Hey there, I'm a student looking to make the switch from sketchup to a more advanced 3D modeling program. Any thoughts, reviews, or references to good websites with pertinent info would be much appreciated. Thanks- happy designing.

Jan 5, 09 7:41 pm
randomized
search
Jan 6, 09 2:08 am  · 
 · 
randomized
or try this one

Jan 6, 09 2:12 am  · 
 · 
Antisthenes

more comments and entries before serious

Jan 6, 09 10:27 am  · 
 · 
slop

max would probably be the most popular upgrade from sketchup, although revit will be handy if you wanna get some working drawings from your model too.

Jan 29, 09 10:49 pm  · 
 · 
Minimal Animal

here's the perfect combination...learn Rhino and Max...as far as modeling and rendering goes, you should be covered...but eventually, you're going to have to learn Revit...so Rhino+Max+Revit should do it.

Jan 30, 09 12:36 am  · 
 · 
holz.box

i can stumble through rhino, although my aesthetic doesn't really utilize it well.

max and revit i can do without.

Jan 30, 09 1:30 am  · 
 · 
trace™

Revit to Max

That'll get a you job, too.

Jan 30, 09 9:55 am  · 
 · 
accesskb

To those who've used Max and Maya, which do you prefer? I started out with Max and then tried Maya.

For some reason I hate Max, the layout and tools seem hidden and helluva confusing. It takes me far more time to model something on Max than on Maya. probably because I'm not familiar where the tools are located.

The only drawback with Maya is I cant model as accurately like in Max.

any advice/suggestions?

Feb 5, 09 5:55 pm  · 
 · 
Antisthenes

autodesk i can do with out

Feb 5, 09 6:43 pm  · 
 · 
MArch n' unemployed

anti i know you, like me are a rhino fanatic, but have you ever played with modo?

http://www.luxology.com/

Feb 5, 09 6:49 pm  · 
 · 
Antisthenes

i am playing with DoubleCad now, can i say refreshing??