Archinect
anchor

Student working from home vs in studio

ratzbodell

Hello,

I am a first year graduate student at the GSAPP, and also a newlywed. I am posting because I am a bit conflicted about where to do my studio and other class work. My wife and I got married in August and left for New York the next day, and for the past few months I've been working on my class work from my apartment in order to spend enough time with her. However mid reviews are coming up and I am beginning to wonder if I am doing myself a disservice by working from home rather than in studio, where all of my peers are working on the same projects that I am. Am I correct in my concern? Or is it okay to have that life outside of architecture?

Thanks,

Bill

Oct 17, 13 2:14 am

I think for me, it's great to work in the studio since you are in an environment where everyone is doing the same thing and there is a healthy culmination and exchange of ideas. With that being said, I have also felt at times, that its more productive when you work from home since its easier to get into your creative zone without anyone disturbing you. 

At the end of the day, I think its about balancing both. It's great to work in the studio because of the ambiance but when you need to get things done, working from home might be the better option. Just balance both and I think you should be fine. 

Oct 17, 13 4:04 am  · 
 · 
gruen