Archinect
anchor

Questions about working/living abroad

Art+tec

Hey all, I know this topic has come up in one form or another but I still have some specific questions. I am new to all this (applying to work abroad + even asking for advice on a forum) so please bear with me. So my questions largely concern the topic about housing when working abroad. While some firms mention that they would pay for healthcare, housing, etc...some remain ambigious. (This may be a silly question) but do I assume the firms will not help me find housing and only care that you are in someway able to get to their facilities? I assume that is the case. I was wondering if any of you fellow archinecters had any tips/advice/past experiences you can share with me as well as to the rest of this forum?

-Should I try to ask firms abroad to help me in some way to pay or find housing?

-How/where do I find housing abroad? (especially without even knowing how it looks or if it is safe/appropriate/etc?)

-Any Advice?

I appreicate all of your help. Thanks!

Jun 1, 11 5:36 pm
Art+tec

I forgot to mention I am American and currently reside in the U.S.

I was looking to work abroad in places such as CHINA or LONDON

Jun 1, 11 5:38 pm  · 
 · 

ask for help and or advice.  am sure it will be offered along with the job.  if not then you are going to work for some pretty iffy people.  i would not expect offices in london to pay your rent.  don't know about china.

it is very difficult to find a place long distance.  come to think of it that us is not so different to moving across the usa except that customs are different in different countries and sometimes they can be quite a pain - a fine addition to the pain of moving within your own culture.  i have moved to 3 countries(Canada, UK, Japan) in last few years and it is always nerve-wracking to find a place while also trying to find your way in a new job...