Archinect
anchor

BEST software for a small interiors firm??

kateko14

We're a small corporate interiors firm who are looking for software that is the most comprehensive but user friendly - that can be used from schematics through design development through construction. We currently use AutoCAD 2008 LT - but really would like something that also has great 3D capabilities. Any thoughts??

Dec 22, 08 5:37 pm
Minimal Animal

revit

Dec 22, 08 6:00 pm  · 
 · 
Antisthenes

what are you looking to spend? and what are examples of what you produce or want to produce?

Dec 22, 08 6:21 pm  · 
 · 
Living in Gin

I have a few years experience doing corporate interiors work, and regular AutoCAD (not LT) was about all we ever needed, plus the usual Adobe Creative Suite stuff for presentations, etc.

Our friendly Autodesk vendor was relentless in his efforts to shove Revit down our throats whether we needed it or not, but it would have been overkill for 99% of the work we did.

Dec 22, 08 6:28 pm  · 
 · 
****melt

SOme of my interior design friends who do strictly interiors really like ArchiCAD. They say it really helps with not only floorplans, but renderings as well. I don't know how much the software is or really anything about it, but it may be worth doing a little research.

Dec 22, 08 9:00 pm  · 
 · 
aspect

i thought most interior design firm use 3d max, cos they have good mapping library and furniture?

Dec 22, 08 9:22 pm  · 
 · 
****melt

Aspect - you may be right, I'm not in touch with a lot of my old classmates. The few that I am use, either AutoCAD or ArchiCAD... or are doing residential and don't touch a computer at all.

Dec 22, 08 9:36 pm  · 
 · 
bRink

I'd suggest Revit. If autocad = word, revit = excel...

To see what it does, here are some basic tutorials from youtube:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JSy16U4MB4Q&feature=related

http://www.youtube.com/user/revitian

also a good revit online community:

www.revitcity.com