Archinect
anchor

Design/Build question: contractor's license?

liberty bell

I'm about to sign a contract for a small design build project for the City (actually a cultural office partnered with the city, but using city contract requirements).

The contract is for me to install three small "sculptures" (actually bus stops) in a larger site redevelopment plan. The larger project has a Project Architect. In my contract I'm being referred to as "the Artist" because they categorize the things I'm providing as "sculptures", though functional.

But that's the question: I'm providing the objects; I'm not only designing them, I'm fabricating, delivering, and installing them. The city refers to this as a "design-build" contract, typical for all their contracts with artists.

The question is, since I'm a licensed architect, when I venture out of traditional practice and into design-build, do I need a contractor's license?

(I'm finally getting E&O insurance for this job, so I'm trying to keep everything legit. And I'll have a structural engineer, too.)

Anyone been in a similar situation? I know it's a boring topic, but I appreciate advice!

Dec 4, 08 4:09 pm
threshold

I think the city is going to have to answer that question for you.

Dec 4, 08 4:24 pm  · 
 · 
liberty bell

But the city is contracting with me as an artist, not as an architect. They (via my contract) don't require artists to have a contractor's license, only insurance. It's my fear of personal liability - my state is one that doesn't allow corporation shielding for licensed professionals - that's making me wonder if I need a contractor's license.

I have not thought to check the state licensing board's thoughts on the topic, better go there now...

Dec 4, 08 4:30 pm  · 
 · 

i've think i've got a contact for you. an indiana architecture/design build/theme park assemblies firm i know. i'll call 'em and then call you.

but how cool would it be to have a gen'l contractor's license? can't cost all that much...