Archinect
anchor

IDP 6 MONTH RULE

bentropy

Has anyone fully grasped this rule?

I graduated in December, started work in January, and now wish to start my NCARB record.

Here's what the IDP website says as an example of this new stupid rule:

Example 4: Missed Filing Deadline for Reporting Period of Six Months
If an intern attempts to file a training unit report on October 3 for a period covering January 15 through July 14, the report will not be accepted. The intern must recalculate and resubmit the report.

In this example, February 4 is the earliest possible start date for a training unit report submitted on October 3 and any units accumulated from January 15 through February 3 would be lost. If February 4 was used as the start date, then the reporting period would end on August 3, six months later, and the intern could file his or her report on October 3.

So, do I lose the first half of this year because I haven't documented it?

That sounds like major BS if you ask me.

Thanks y'all.

Dec 3, 08 1:09 pm
lletdownl

well... the 6 month rule doesnt go into effect until july 2009... thats my understanding... so get all your hours in before that and you should be fine... from then on you'll need to report every 6 months

Dec 3, 08 1:25 pm  · 
 · 
wrecking ball

the 6 month rule goes into effect in july 2009 for those who haven't already registered. for those who have, the 6 month rule does not apply until july 2010.

Dec 3, 08 2:12 pm  · 
 · 
Bloopox

wrecking ball is correct. just make sure to start your council record asap, and then start regularly filing reports. you won't lose credit for this time you've already worked.

what they're trying to prevent is what a lot of us used to do: report 5 or 6 years of experience all at once just before we want to start testing.