Archinect
anchor

General Career Questions

Smokatres

I'm currently an undergraduate student enduring my third year of study. Recently, I've acquired a profound attraction to architecture as well as urban design and city planning. More specifically, I'm interested in the relationship between people and the built environment. It's extremely fascinating to me how humans are affected by how space is defined around them.

Anyway, in my research of the architectural profession, I've come across many salary polls. To say the least, I've been somewhat daunted. I'm not looking to become wealthy, but I'd like to live a somewhat comfortable existence. I'm curious as to how any of you may supplement your income.

How many of you are required to work in a cubicle? Does a career in architecture present any kinds of traveling opportunities (other than moving from one employer to the next)? Are there opportunities to work on actual construction sites?

Additionally, I know that there are a few M.Arch/MBA programs. Are there any significant advantages to this course of study?

Finally, are there other professions related to architecture that make more money? Thanks in advance.

Dec 3, 08 12:25 am
binary

exhibit design/engineering......

but you have to learn how things are 'actually' built and 'assembled'....

Dec 3, 08 12:34 am  · 
 · 
peridotbritches

Smoka,
peruse these fora and you shall come across both what and more than you desire to know. But, to sum up: