Archinect
anchor

Possibilities for a job in the USA?

didkoo

I'm a 3rd year architecture student in UACG (University of architecture in Sofia, Bulgaria (Eastern Europe)).
This year I'm planning to halt my education at the university for one year and travel to the USA, where hopefuly I'll work some bad job for like $10/hour.

So I'd like to ask: Is there ANY chance I could find an architectural job? Let's say something like Architectural Technician (I dunno if it's correctly said that way but however)? I will stay in the maybe 1 year. I have a one-year job experience and excellent knowledge of AutoCAD, Revit, ArchiCAD & 3DS MAX. Also my English will be far better in time :)

By posting this topic I'm not seeking job, I just hope some experienced colleague can answer this for me!
Sorry for my bad English :(

Thank You!

Nov 26, 08 11:17 am
WonderK

Bad timing, friend. The past few weeks have been fairly brutal in our profession in the U.S. If you don't believe me, search for and check out all the threads that start with the word "layoffs". I'm not going to tell you it can't be done, but you will be competing with roughly 20% of our workforce that just got laid off, and they are skilled, and they have bills to pay. If you really want to work here, you might look for jobs that don't pay. However, if you need an income, you may not even want to waste money on a plane ticket.

Nov 26, 08 11:24 am  · 
 · 
Xing

not a chance. compete for an unpaid intern maybe. sorry, that is the stark reality.

Nov 26, 08 12:01 pm  · 
 · 
won and done williams

man, what a bunch of debbie downers. i think you've got a chance. you have a good skill set with bim experience. i think the fact that you are not american may actually help your chances, and your english is really quite good.