Archinect
anchor

Career Change to Architecture

ckdavid

Hello! I need some help and advice. I'm 22 years old, I have a bachelor's degree in business management and I'm thinking of doing a career change to architecture. I took business management because it was the safe path but I can see that I'm not happy with it, and now I want to pursue something I know I will be truly happy with, and that's architecture. What would be my path? Is it better to take a bachelor's degree all over again, or proceed to a masters degree? How many years would it take me to become a licensed architect?

Thank you!

Sep 29, 13 10:28 pm
observant

You're talking to the right jerk I on here.  My candor rattles people's feathers sometimes.

I traveled this path and from that same academic field.  Do not take another bachelor's degree.  I don't know if you even could at some schools, and if you could, it would have to be a B.Arch. which is sequenced over 5 years.  This means that, if they granted you credit for your general ed and some electives, you would sit around a campus for 5 years and rarely, if ever, see full-time enrollment in an academic term.

For this path, and for holders of other degrees, there is the accredited M.Arch. which takes 3+ years.  There is no fussing over general education, because it's graduate work.  Also, 3 years could mean 3 years, 3 years + preceding summer, 3 years + inserted summer, 3.5 years, and, in a few rare instances, 4 years.  It depends on the school.  Make sure the program is NAAB accredited.  You will need to have had a course in calculus, 1 year of physics (or at some schools just through mechanics), and a freehand drawing course, as a minimum.  Those are the prerequisites.  Also, in addition to standard grad school items (GPA, GRE, essay, and recommendations), you will need a portfolio displaying an aptitude for design.