Archinect
anchor

Designing House as an Intern

rhunter7

I was recently asked by a friend if I was interested in drawing floor plans for them for a new house they want to build. They also asked how much I wanted to be paid for doing so.

I am an intern architect, master's degree in architecture and about a year of experience working in an office. I have recently been working on several residential projects at my job so I do have some experience but obviously nothing major or extensive.

I haven't gotten into any detail about what exactly they want, just what I said they wanted above, and I wanted to get an idea of how to respond to them.

Two Questions:

1. I know that one does not need to be a licensed architect to do residential design, but am I getting into something over my head here if I agree to do this? I know that I do not have the experience or knowledge to run them through the entire process of zoning ,approvals and construction administration, etc..and I would obviously let them know that. But what if I am simply helping them layout a general design that they can then give to someone else?

2. If I am simply doing the latter, how much should I charge? They are friends and I would like to do it for a small amount but I do work full time and to give them something of quality would take me some time. I know architects usually charge by the sq/ft, something like $2 per maybe. 

Just seeing what someone in the know thinks of this situation.

Sep 22, 13 10:58 pm

Do your friend a favor and set him up with your firm. Maybe you can negotiate a larger role in the project. Whatever you do, don't think you are doing him a favor by providing design services with no experience. It's the other way around - he's doing you a favor offering you the project. The only responsible thing you can do is make sure he gets a professional job.

Unless of course he's just trying to get it on the cheap, in which case he will get exactly what he pays for.

Sep 22, 13 11:24 pm  ·