Archinect
anchor

Tried to get away from architecture.. but i'm drawn right back

accesskb

I took a break from architecture working in another field for two years.. Though I despised architecture when I left, I kept being drawn back to architecture.  Something was missing while away from it.  It wasn't stressful but more depressing, like something was lost in my life.  As tough and stressful architecture is, I feel like I have a purpose in life when at it, like I'm contributing to something meaningful and good in life.

Anyone else ever felt that way?  have thoughts of leaving architecture for good?

guess i'm shackled to this profession for life.

Sep 13, 13 3:19 am

solution: "hi, my name is accesskb and i'm an architect."

Sep 13, 13 7:28 am  · 
 · 

Well to me this is one more reason to get licensed.  Even if I leave architecture - which I'm slowly doing in my career right now - being a registered architect means I always have a connection, practically and emotionally. It feels good.

Sep 13, 13 8:27 am  · 
 · 

I've had the same experience. When it's good it's great but when it's bad you just want to do something else entirely.

The only metaphor I can think of for my relationship with architecture is Elizabeth Taylor's marriages.

Sep 13, 13 9:25 am  · 
 · 
gwharton

I've quit architecture cold turkey twice so far in my career. The first time to be a futures and options trader, the second to run a private equity fund. Apparently I'm like a heroin addict or something, because I couldn't go more than a year and half without getting all twitchy without a pen and trace in my hands. Inevitably, I fell of the wagon. 9 months the first time, 20 months the second. Architecture, why can't I quit you?

We need a 12-step program.

Sep 13, 13 2:24 pm  · 
 · 
jmanganelli