Archinect
anchor

Yes, it's another salary thread...

Benjamin_

I know there are TONS of topics about salary, but this is sort of an advice question too. I have been working for a firm for about 3 months now and I just had my first review. I have been making (embarrassed to say $15/hour) which they told me at the beginning was a temporary starting salary. I wasn't given an opportunity to ask for a salary or explain "what I am worth". I am an intern but I do a lot of design work AND they just fired someone else and said that I will be taking on more responsibility and work. I went into the review today expecting a big pay increase. Instead, they said we will be bumping me up to $16/hour. I don't want to seem like I am complaining and I am fortunate to have a job (which I love) but am I taking it up the hoop on this one, or should I just shut up and get back to work?

I don't expect to be making a lot of money, but at least in line with the national average. After today I just feel like I should print up my resume and start over.

What do you all think?

Oct 17, 08 1:38 pm
quizzical

where are you located, how large is the firm, what degree do you hold, and how much experience do you bring to the job?

we can't give you any meaningful feedback without answers to those questions.

Oct 17, 08 1:46 pm  · 
 · 
Benjamin_

small - medium sized firm
B. Sci in Arch. (for now)
A few summers of work experience
LEED AP

Oct 17, 08 1:49 pm  · 
 · 
Benjamin_

Sorry, located in Ontario, not far from Toronto.

Oct 17, 08 1:50 pm  · 
 · 
binary

your an intern...... learn what you can then the next job/time around you can ask for more...

i'd be happy making 16 an hour right now

Oct 17, 08 2:08 pm  · 
 · 
quizzical

oh ... now you're just trying to make it hard ... I don't know of any salary survey information for Canada ... but, based on the latest AIA Compensation Survey for US Architectural positions (released last month), here's what I can offer: