Archinect
anchor

Need Your Advise

Husa

Hello All!!

As an experienced foreign architect, I don't know how to find a job in California?

There is no responses to my job applications.  That makes me very hopeless to find a job.

What should I do to get a job as soon as possible as a foreign architect?????

Should I get a master degree? or

Try to get license, or

Get enroll some extensions programs as Construction and environmental Management??

I need your advice.

Thanks

Husa

Sep 8, 13 11:50 am
bklyntotfc

Do you have a visa to work in the US?

And if you do, in your CV and cover letter, do you make it very clear that you have a visa, can work for x months/years, whether you'll need your employer to act as your visa sponsor, etc.?

When we get resume's from abroad that don't let us know their visa status, we assume that the applicant does not have a visa, or knowledge of what's needed to work in the US, and don't give the application any further consideration.

Sep 8, 13 12:47 pm  · 
 · 
Husa

Yes, I have a visa, green card,to work for any employment. I explain that issue every time at the bottom of my cover letters but not in my resume.

Sep 8, 13 6:28 pm  · 
 · 
accesskb

how did you become an experienced architect without a masters degree?

Sep 8, 13 8:27 pm  · 
 · 
Husa

Hi accesskb,

I have around eleven years experience as an architect.

Do I need to have a master degree to be called an experienced architect? Could you tell me who is called an experienced architect?

Thanks

Sep 9, 13 4:08 am  · 
 · 
nsamat

Hello everyone,

I feel a bit the same way, but I do not even have a visa... I live in Europe (Hungary), I have Msc and docotoral degree in Architecture. In my country I have 12 years experience, I am licenced and I can project individually without any limitation of size and type (practically after some paperwork I would have the same rights in any country of the EU).