Archinect
anchor

Finding schools for B.Arch

ellez3

Hi I'm an aspiring architect and I graduated high school in 2012. I was admitted to Pratt and Georgia Tech but couldn't attend due to medical reasons and of course, economic reasons. 

I really wanted to go to Pratt since New York was always the city I was aiming for but I can't and now I have to look for schools again. Since graduation I haven't had any experience in the field so I'm just applying as a highschool graduate. Im more interested in studio-based architecture programs. But I believe that debt isn't really worth it. I've looked at BAC, Wentworth, and Community Colleges. BAC I'm dubious because it is a 7 year program and Wentworth a 4. I'm looking for a 5 year BArch course and not planning for a masters afterwards. So my question is do you have any suggestions on which economically reasonable and rigorous schools to attend? Also, what's your take on CCs? Is it worth taking 2 years there and transferring? because I know the difficulty when transferring to an undergrad and my credits may not be accepted. Also, I'm looking for good reputable colleges, my high school gpa is 3.8

Thank you so much, any response would be helpful!

Sep 7, 13 11:45 am
Beepbeep

umass Amherst or mass art or RISD is really good in the Boston Area

Sep 7, 13 5:50 pm  · 
 · 
observant

Georgia Tech does not offer a 5 year B.Arch.  They are 4+2.  As for UMass, they are also 4 + 2.  In fact, finding the "4" in their website didn't reveal one.  I think they primarily offer graduate instruction in architecture.

Are you an Easterner?

There are B.Archs. at Virginia Tech, Penn State, Cornell, Carnegie Mellon, NCSU, Tulane, and Auburn, to name a few.  I know very little about NYC area B.Archs.

It's amazing just how many schools now follow the 4+2 model, and my opinions of it are mixed (pros and cons)

Sep 7, 13 7:35 pm  · 
 · 
ellez3