Archinect
anchor

Undergraduate- Choosing a Path

chichi

I am one of those people who knew since the age of 5 that I wanted to be an architect. I am an international student and recently finished my A-levels. My result were good, and when calculated my GPA is 3.9.  I want to try to get into a good US program and I realize that there are two paths to choose. What I should also mention is that I really need aid, possibly a scholarship and that I have plans to return back to my country and build my career here.

So my question is should I jump straight into a B.Arch(5 year) program and get my M.Arch in 2 years or do a Bachelors in a liberal arts school and do a 3 year M.Arch? My school counselor tells me Architecture schools do not give good aid where as some liberal arts colleges will meet my needs. She is right?
Thanks. 

Sep 5, 13 1:08 pm
observant

Where country are you in - the UK (I see "A-levels")?  Chichi, are you male or female?  (In Spanish, calling oneself "chichi" is, well, interesting).  Your GPA is excellent.  How are your artistic and creative skills, in tangible form? There are 3 paths here in "the colonies:"

1.  5 year B.Arch. (and you do NOT need further education after that) (accredited)

2.  4 year BA/BS  in Arch. (not accredited) + 2 year M.Arch. (accredited)

3.  4 year BA/BS in any subject + 3 (.5) year M.Arch. (accredited)

I don't know if it's true or not about the aid.  If you're a foreign student, aid might be harder to come by.  They have to take of the Americans with demonstrated financial need, excellent scholastic performance, or both.  Thus, if you really want to come to the U.S., I would recommend choices 1 and 3 shown above.