Archinect
anchor

Why Do Other Industries get to Use the Title of 'Architect'?....& we can't.

MysteryMan

...yet we who are actually Architects get threatened w/ legal reprisals if we want to call oursleves Architects...which we actually are.

Hell, if Elon Musk (who I admire) can call himself a 'Product Architect', & thousands of IT hacks can call themselves 'IT Architects', 'System Architects', etc.  Then I am gonna say Faak it, I don't need no P.O.S. AIA, NCARB, nor State Licence.  I'm an Architect because everyone else can call themselves that.

Aug 31, 13 3:09 pm
b3tadine[sutures]

My mom can call herself a fucking Domestic Architect for all I care, but the minute she tries to design a building, I'm suing her ass. 

Aug 31, 13 8:02 pm  · 
 · 
drewjmcnamara
^ LOL
Aug 31, 13 8:24 pm  · 
 · 
backbay

^^that's legitimately the best thing i've heard all week.

Aug 31, 13 8:34 pm  · 
 · 
natematt

^^^ ha

I got a shirt at an IT job fair I just happened to wander through that reads: "real architects code... I don't know what they call those people who design buildings?"

Aug 31, 13 9:08 pm  · 
 · 
observant

I've periodically seen salary surveys on homepages or links, and it said "architect," but upon looking closer it was "network architect."  There's this term used called "enterprise architecture."  Sounds trek-y to me.  I once talked to a lady who did this and, after having her explain to me what she did, I was still clueless.  It sounded so vague.  Is it the New Millennium term for a systems analyst?

I don't care who used the term in the IT industry.  The confusion is minimal.  You don't approach them to do your custom home.  You know they're IT guys and gals.