Archinect
anchor

24-7 COMPUTER ACCESS???

archiTEKE

I have been attending NYIT for the past 4 years w/ 24-7 unlimited access to the computer lab which only had 4 old ratty computers, 1 tempremental plotter, and 1 printer for 200 undergrads. After numerous complants over the 4 years @NYIT finally we recieved 14 brand new computers 1 plotter and 2 printers. New school policy is ther must be a proctor present in the room at all times. WE MUST WORK UNDER SOMEONE ELSES HOURS??? 24-7 UNLIMITED ACCESS IS A MUST! My question is what are policies on computer lab access @ other undergrad universities???

Sep 27, 04 3:02 pm
Pimp Minister Pete Nice

File>Print

Sep 27, 04 3:26 pm  · 
 · 
sahar

All public computer labs are open 24-7. Public labs=any student can access. The architecture lab is public, but very few people know about it outside architecture and people doing advanced visualization.

The only thing is that if computers break or printers die there are not 24 hour IT people.

Sep 27, 04 3:58 pm  · 
 · 
Ormolu

When I was an undergrad I went to a school whose buildings were not open 24 hours. The usual hours were 7am - midnight on weekdays and 8am - 7pm on weekends. The computers were available (without staff supervision) whenever the buildings were open, but there were sign-up sheets for them and they were frequently booked.

The college at which I'm currently teaching has a similar situation. There is additionally some requirement that the students take a brief computer seminar prior to being issued a password to school computers - most of which seems to be about piracy issues, though some addresses technical concerns/troubleshooting.
It appears to me that most (90%+) of the students have their own laptops that they cart around with them everywhere.

As a grad student our building and computer labs were open 24 hours. The computer lab itself required key-card access, and there were a lot of computers in the studios.

Sep 27, 04 4:28 pm  · 
 · 
archiTEKE