Archinect
anchor

Help please!

SPIPE

Hello, I'm a student looking to study architecture at uni and am currently writing my Extended Project Qualification under the title:

Development within modern architecture is helping societies move closer to collective self-actualization

Self actualization is a term used to describe the state where a person becomes as fulfilled as they can be on a psychological level so I'm basically just writing about the psychological effects of architecture on human beings and whether it is moving in a positive direction.

Any help would be so appreciated and I also hope this could be a good general topic of discussion in any case.

Thank you!

Aug 25, 13 5:39 am
ArchNyen

Advice: Write the paper using your own words. Make it true through you and not through others.  Be original and genuine. How do you see self-actualization in architecture?

Aug 25, 13 1:55 pm  · 
 · 
Federico Silvestri

hi, I think that is very interesting analize how the architecture and in general the city can influence the human's activity. There is a book wrote by Jane Jacobs,  Death and Life of Great American Cities. It gives a description of the society, and how it evolves, on the strength of the changing of the city.

Aug 25, 13 10:20 pm  · 
 · 
Wilma Buttfit

Human beings engage with sensory information and architecture provides sensory information but I don't know about self-actualization.

Excerpted From Wikipedia:

A self-actualizer is a person who is living creatively and fully using his or her potentials. In his studies, Maslow found that self-actualizers share similarities. Whether famous or unknown, educated or not, rich or poor, self-actualizers tend to fit the following profile.[16]

• Efficient perceptions of reality. Self-actualizers are able to judge situations correctly and honestly. They are very sensitive to the fake and dishonest, and are free to see reality 'as it is'.