Archinect
anchor

architecture as a way of life

awesomekeith

architects with b. arch unrelated and m. arch 1 

vs

architects with b. arch architecture + m. arch 2 / only b. arch 

advantages and disadvantages of each vs. eachother? I am an econ undergrad I am starting m. arch this following fall. in the field, in the real world do i have more or less value than b. archs (assuming of course that I finish)? My friend and I, she is anthropology and i am economics are both going to get m. archs, I feel like potentially we will be better than b. archs. Can you comment on this conundrum?  

i have been reading christopher alexanders 'a pattern language' how important is this book to architecture and the process? what are other books to read?

how can i get involved in architecture now and during my schooling, because it is going to be years before i can even start the licensing process. I have also learned how flawed the education system is through the book 'a pattern language' I have realized that I need to get my hands in architecture now and while in grad school. I want to know how to get involved, I am learning the computer programs but I pretty much only know rhino, sketch up, illustrator and I am no where near and expert, and I have built wooden models that aren't particularly fantastic. What do I have to offer to the field of architecture at this point?

thank you

Aug 20, 13 4:04 pm
Bench

Honestly?

If you're looking to get better in the field: Stop worrying about which route would have been better because you can't change it now anyway. Regardless, the route doesn't matter - future employers will be judging YOU based on YOUR skillset compared to someone else's, not your degree combo to another person's degree combo.

Aug 20, 13 4:28 pm  · 
 · 
toasteroven

slow the hell down, there, kiddo.