Archinect
anchor

CA vs DD experience?

beanie

I'm wondering if anyone had any advice or insight. I'm trying to choose between a job that would put me directly on support of a high-profile project during CA vs staying at a job that will begin DD soon. I have several years of experience but haven't never been on a project long enough to see it though to construction. I really think I need the CA experience, but if I stay where I am, I'd have to wait at least 2 years before construction will even begin. So there are a few opposing considerations:

- immediate CA gratification vs. seeing a project from beginning to end (but who knows what stumbling blocks there will be along the way)

- CA in a support role in a larger, high profile office/project vs. DD with more managment responsibilities in a smaller, low-profile project/office

- less design opportunities vs. more design opportunities

Of course there are more issues, but these are the main ones. Any insights would be greatly appreciated

Sep 14, 08 12:14 pm
holz.box

my biggest complaint is that i can never get enough CA experience.

Sep 14, 08 12:50 pm  · 
 · 
some person

CA experience is far more valuable when you are working on a project that you designed and/or documented. I could imagine that it would be difficult to approach a project cold and try to review shop drawings for general conformance with design intent. One might find him/herself looking at the shops and saying, "Looks good to me!" while missing the important design items.

I finished 2.5 years of straight CA a few months ago. It was tough, I learned a lot, but I'm not anxious to do it again anytime soon.

Sep 14, 08 1:39 pm  · 
 · 
some person

errr... DD to "end" of construction was 2.5 years. Construction was supposed to be 12 months but dragged on for 1.5+ years. Either way, it was mostly miserable... :(

Sep 14, 08 1:43 pm  · 
 · 
binary

do the CA.......

DD will always be there for later projects

Sep 14, 08 1:44 pm  · 
 · 
mantaray