Archinect
anchor

Triangular Meshing in Rhino

I am very new to rhino, but am going to venture into the world of 3d printing for a project this semester. If I were to create a curvilinear surface, how would I go about splitting it into triangular or polygonal facets (to represent glazing or steel sheets). Its a dense program, so I guess I'm just looking to be pointed in the right direction so I can start doing tutorials that might pertain to what I am trying to accomplish. Thanks, and sorry if this has been covered before, I couldn't find anything using search.

Sep 13, 08 9:45 pm
MArch n' unemployed

how would you do it? maya

or

check out the paneling plug in
http://blog.rhino3d.com/2008/09/panelingtools-updated.html

but im not sure what this has to do with 3D-printing, you need 'water-tight' surfaces with thickness to 3D print, if this is your first time doing it i wouldn't get to fancy with the representation.

although a faster and easier way of showing detail like that would be to extract the isocurves from the surface, you can then take those curves and edit them as you like. then pipe [use multi-pipe] the curves, essentially giving you a net of your surface [be careful though, if the surface is really big or complex piping it will seriously bog rhino down - consider turning the polysurfaces into meshes when you are done editing]. make sure the centerpoint of the pipes are aligned with the face of the surface, then when the 3D printer reads the surface it will print the 'bumps' of the net, giving you more detail on your surface.

Sep 14, 08 1:13 pm  · 
 · 
PodZilla

When you export to .stl, it automatically triangulates the mesh. Model in NURBS and set the meshing paramaters really high to obtain a smooth surface, and really low for a "triangulated" look.

Sep 14, 08 4:11 pm  · 
 · 
MArch n' unemployed

i don't think that's what he means podzilla

Sep 14, 08 6:49 pm  · 
 · 
Antisthenes

ya a new paneling plug in came out last week

Sep 15, 08 2:17 pm  ·