Archinect
anchor

Getting ahead despite a MicroManager Boss

ChuckCork

Is it possible?

I'm now thinking of leaving the profession entirely, which is sad because my previous job (that I left for non-work related reasons) was great, I was a senior architect and running some quite nice jobs and handling them OK I thought.

But the office manager I now work under loves to be in charge of ALL the details, big and small. If we don't check with him first we are liable to screw up, as we mere mortals aren't the ones attending the meetings, sending out the correspondence, dealing with the various agendas of planners and clients etc, plus the office has a team structure where we all work on projects for a spell before it ends up with someone else, so knowing the current status of any project and why anything is done a certain way near impossible. I also end up having to fix up other peoples screw ups, which marks me out as nothing but a complainer, and which doesn't encourage me to bother myself.

Each time I try to suggest (being proactive) that I could work on a particlar apscet or carry out a particular task I get told not to bother, its too early, too late, I'm told there is no point (even if there is an obvious one), its already done, not required, would be counter to someone's interests that I couldn't possibly know...and so on.

Taking the iniative, which I am frequently and snidely having suggested I should do, is therefore close to impossible as it simply isn't allowed unless expressly requested, along the lines of the joke: "I was thinking of taking the iniative but noone asked me to".