Archinect
anchor

Job Interview @ Major Architecture Firm! *advice??*

quitenice

Hello friends,

I have an interview today for an Executive Asst. position at a very well known firm and I am sooooo excited! In fact, the most excited I have ever been as far as jobs go. I would be interviewing for the spot of the lead designer's assistant. I know I am qualified and am so completely floored/honored they would consider me!  Any advice going in?? I have no idea what to expect because of their company culture ...   I studied art history for my undergrad, and can definitely talk the talk/walk the walk. Just am hoping to get some insight from anyone out there!

Aug 12, 13 11:36 am
quitenice

Also, I should add that they are very relaxed, but super professional and busy office. They are semi-young and do large projects. I am thinking this will be a pretty casual interview? Well, at least that is what I am hoping for!

Aug 12, 13 11:40 am  · 
 · 
Xena

Hi Quitenice! All the best for your interview!  i can't help much, except for this insightful article: 

http://www.scribd.com/doc/21574994/64-Interview-Questions

:)

Aug 12, 13 12:13 pm  · 
 · 
citizen

Maybe the interview will be "pretty casual," and maybe not.  Prepare to be grilled, and have an answer for everything you can.  If instead it's casual, then it's a pleasant surprise.

Aug 12, 13 1:23 pm  · 
 · 
quitenice

Thanks, citizen!  I have been preparing for this interview for several days, but this will be my first foray into the world of architecture and I was in such a different career space before now.  You never know!

Aug 12, 13 1:38 pm  · 
 · 

Whatever you do, don't wear this shirt

or these pants

Aug 12, 13 3:23 pm  · 
 · 
observant

Whatever you do, don't wear this shirt

If the firm is on the Jersey Shore then, yes, wear that shirt and, if the OP is a woman, find a blouse with that pattern.  That is too cool for school.

Aug 12, 13 6:20 pm  · 
 · 
quitenice