Archinect
anchor

4 Yr Degree - when can i take the ARE's

outthere

Ok so I have a four year degree in Arch. from SUNY Buffalo NY ..how many years do I need before being able to take the RA exam?

To many people are telling me to many different things

According to
link
under education im category B and i need 4 years exp. ..or am I category D?
Does Professional degree mean masters?

Aug 29, 08 7:35 pm
mantaray

Professional Degree means either a Bachelor of Architecture or Master of Architecture. With a four-year degree, unfortunately you have either a Bachelor of Arts in Architecture or a Bachelor of Science in Architecture; neither allows you to sit for the exam in most states. (Some states--very few--still allow someone to sit for the exam after working for a long time, such as 13 years.)

Check out NCARB's documentation on the subject.

It sounds like you may have to go back to school to earn a professional Master's of Architecture in order to be eligible for licensure.

Frankly... I'm kind of shocked you made it through four years of school with nobody explaining this to you! (?!)

Aug 29, 08 7:47 pm  · 
 · 
outthere

I just found this

link

under 2i - so i think i need 5 years

Aug 29, 08 7:58 pm  · 
 · 
mantaray

That's great. Also impressive that NY still offers the 12 year route, with no college degree necessary. Go NY!

However, keep in mind that you probably will be very limited as to which states you can transfer your license to, should you ever decide to practice outside of NY.

Aug 29, 08 11:03 pm  · 
 · 
ff33º

1170 TUs per your 4 yr degree according to NCARB which equals 4.68 years @ 50 full time 40 weeks a year in the exact TU categories being fulfilled......never happen.

go to grad school

Aug 30, 08 1:12 am  · 
 · 
outthere

-ff33 where do you see that? I see here 1170 TU's apply to CO and IL...
For NY it says 5 years, so Im assuming you need the typical 700 Training Units within a 5 year period